2021 ICAHM Annual Meeting- Scientific Committee

Alicia Castila MenaUniversidad Complutense de Madrid
Alicia is a researcher and lecturer at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid in the Prehistory Department. Her research lines include Archaeological Heritage: Preventive Archaeology, ITC, Architectural Heritage and World Heritage.

Monique van den Dries – Leiden University

Mara de Groot – Centre for Global Heritage and Development

Simon Makuvaza – National University of Science and Technology, Zimbabwe
Simon Makuvaza is a Research Fellow in the Faculty of the Built Environment at the National University of Science and Technology (NUST) in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. Prior to his appointment to this post, he lectured archaeology and heritage management at the Catholic University of Malawi and has also worked as an archaeologist for the National Museums and Monuments of Zimbabwe (NMMZ). While working for the NMMZ, he was manager of the Matobo Hills World Heritage Site, and he also coordinated conservation work at Khami World Heritage Site. He also carried out desktop assessments of some properties nominated for World Heritage listing in Africa.

Makuvaza holds a Ph.D. in archaeology from Leiden University, the Netherlands, an M.Sc. in World Heritage Management from University College Dublin, Ireland, a General Masters in Business Administration from NUST and a Special Honours degree in archaeology and a B.A. General degree both from the University of Zimbabwe.

Nelly Robles GarciaIntituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia of Mexico
Dr. Nelly Robles García is the National Coordinator of Archaeology for the Intituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia of Mexico. She has served as a Research Associate in the Anthropology Department of the American Museum of Natural History, a Fullbright Visiting Scholar at Harvard University, and Director of the Archaeological Zone of Monte Albán in Oaxaca, one of Mexico’s most important sites. She received her Doctorate from the University of Georgia in 1994 as a Fullbright Scholar.

Dr. Robles García received the Society for American Archaeology’s Presidential Award in 2008 for her dedication to bringing North American and Mexican archaeologists into conversation, and continues to teach and publish on Oaxacan archaeology, cultural heritage management, and architectural restoration.

Cees van Rooijen – Cultural Heritage Agency of the Netherlands

Menno Welling – Reinwardt Academy

Annemarie Willems – Cultural Heritage Agency of the Netherlands